Asia Fair Trial Practices Roundtable

Promoting the Rule of Law through Fair Evidence Practice

The Asia Fair Trial Practices Roundtable is an ongoing initiative that fosters dialogue, collaboration, and innovation to enhance the region’s fair and just legal systems. The upcoming roundtable, ‘Promoting the Rule of Law through Fair Evidence Practice,’ explores critical aspects of evidence presentation and examination within legal proceedings. 

Date: 21 March 2024

Time:

Sydney: 5:00 PM to 7:30 PM
Bangkok: 2:00 PM to 4:30 PM
Mumbai: 12:30 PM to 3:00 PM
London: 8:00 AM to 10:30 AM

Platform: Zoom Application

Presenters:

Objectives:

The roundtable aims to foster a comprehensive understanding of the importance of fair evidence practices in upholding the rule of law.

1. Examine Fair Evidence Practices: Investigate current practices and challenges related to the obtaining, collection and maintaining of evidence, as well as presenting and examining evidence in legal proceedings, focusing on ensuring fairness and justice.

2. Propose Legal Reforms: Discuss and recommend legal reforms to enhance the fairness of evidence presentation, ensuring a balanced and transparent legal process.

3. Advocate for Fair Trial Practices: Develop strategies for effective advocacy that promote fair trial practices, addressing issues related to the evidence issues in criminal offences.

4. Stress Community Engagement: Emphasize the importance of community involvement in upholding fair trial practices and explore ways to educate and engage the public in the legal process.

Who Should Attend?

  • Legal professionals and practitioners
  • Law Journalists
  • Law lecturers
  • Judges
  • Prosecutors
  • Scholars and academics
  • Researchers in the field of law and human rights
  • Advocates for fair trial practices
Agenda:

Time

Activity

2:00 – 2:20 pm

Welcome and Introductions to the Roundtable Session Objectives

2:20 – 2:40 pm

Presentation 1 and Questions/Sharing

2:40 – 3:00 pm

Presentation 2 and Questions/Sharing

3:00 – 3:20 pm

Presentation 3 and Questions/Sharing

3:20 – 3:40 pm

Presentation 4 and Questions/Sharing

3:40 – 4:10 pm

Open Discussion

4:10 – 4:20 pm

Concluding Remarks, Next Steps, Ways to be in the Fair Trial Regional Network

4:20 – 4:30 pm

Post Roundtable Evaluation

Virtual Backgound

Contact:

For more information, contact BABSEACLE team at [email protected]